Board of Governors of the International Atomic Energy Agency

The IAEA background guide will be available December.

The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) functions as the international center for cooperation in the nuclear field within the UN. The IAEA was created during the Eisenhower presidency, in July 1957, in response to growing fears regarding nuclear weapons proliferation and increased interest in the potential of peaceful applications of nuclear science. The 171 members of the IAEA meet five times a year to discuss the safe, secure and peaceful use of nuclear science and technology.

The topics considered at WASMUN 2020:

I. Application of IAEA safeguards in the Middle East

II. Nuclear and radiation safety