Internal Court of Justice

The International Court of Justice (ICJ) is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. It was established in 1945 by the Charter of the United Nations. The ICJ is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations, and it is the only one not located in New York. Rather, the ICJ is located at the Peace Palace in The Hague in the Netherlands. The Court’s mandated role is to settle legal disputes and give advisory legal opinions regarding cases submitted by Member States, in accordance with international law. The Court is composed of 15 judges who serve nine-year terms and are elected by the United Nations General Assembly and the Security Council.

The topics this committee will consider at WASMUN 2020:

1. DRC v. Uganda

2. Palestine v. US

background guide coming soon!