Security Council

The Security Council (SC) was established in 1945 through the United Nations Charter as one of the six main organs of the United Nations. By mandate, its primary responsibility is to maintain international peace and security. It may meet whenever that peace is threatened. Resolutions passed by the SC are the only ones which are binding and must be carried out by Member-States. The SC generally takes a progressive approach when addressing threats to peace. First, when a complaint is brought before the Council, it will recommend parties try to reach a peaceful agreement. To assist this, the SC may dispatch a special envoy or attempt to mediate between the warring parties. If hostilities continue the Council may attempt to end the conflict as soon as possible by negotiating short-term ceasefires or deploying peacekeeping forces. Beyond this the Council may issue enforcement measures such as economic sanctions, embargoes, or even military action. The SC is composed of 15 member at all times; five permanent members (China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States), each of whom retain the ability to veto and remove a resolution from contention, and ten rotating members.

The topic this committee will consider at WASMUN 2020:

1. Situation in Afghanistan

2. Children and armed conflict

background guide coming soon!